Latest News

Celebrating Hawke’s Bay Primary Sector Excellence

The 2018 Napier Port Hawke’s Bay Primary Sector Awards has this year recognised the outstanding contribution of seven past, present and future leaders in their field.

The 2018 winners are:

Silver Fern Farms Hawke’s Bay Farmer of the Year – David Danks

Pan Pac Hawke’s Bay Farm Forester of the Year –  Charlie and Michelle Bogard

Hastings District Council Primary Sector Industry Leader of the Year – John Buck

Bayleys Hawke’s Bay Primary Sector Professional of the Year – John Cannon

BWR Hawke’s Bay Primary Sector Innovation Award –  StockX

Lawson Robinson Hawke’s Bay A & P Scholarship – Marcus Yule

Laurie Dowling Memorial Award – Sam Robinson

Hosted by the Hawke’s Bay A & P Society at the Hawke’s Bay Showgrounds, over 400 people celebrated the biggest night on the region’s primary sector calendar.

The society’s president Simon Collin says championing and celebrating primary sector excellence has reached a new level for the region.

“These awards celebrate our past, present and future leaders. They are working incredibly hard, they are all dedicated to their different sectors and they are all making a real difference in helping make our region successful.

“Hawke’s Bay’s has a proud history as a primary sector engine house from its rugged hinterland to the rich productive plains of the lowlands.  We have seen innovative producers harness these resources to place the region as one of the most significant food producing regions of New Zealand.”